Tales to Frighten and Delight (Books of Nine Lives #8) (Paperback)

Tales to Frighten and Delight (Books of Nine Lives #8) By Pleasant DeSpain Cover Image
List Price: $11.95
Our Price: $10.16
(Save: $1.79 15%)


Scary stories have always been popular, especially with children. And no wonder hearing such stories heightens the imagination and keeps us alert. The fantasy brings adventure to our routine daily lives. And above all, hearing scary story allows us to face our fears and emerge unharmed. In the nine stories here, skeletons dance, cats talk, and greedy trolls are tricked by a simple innkeeper. The stories come from many traditions, including: Japan ("The Dancing Skeleton"), Uruguay ("The Hungry Witch"), the Sioux Nation ("The Ghost Wife"), and the Congo ("The Talking Skull").

About the Author

Pleasant DeSpain Bio: Pleasant DeSpain has a most unusual but true name and an equally unusual but true profession - writer and storyteller. He travels the world collecting, researching, writing and retelling traditional tales from native cultures. Born in Colorado, he wrote his first original story at age eight. It was published as "The Mystery Artist" in 1996. Pleasant taught speech-literature-drama for six years at three universities, and wrote-produced-hosted an award-winning TV show called "Pleasant Journeys" on KING TV, Seattle. Now, the author of eighteen award-winning, multicultural story collections and picture books, published by August House, has a home in Troy, NY and frequently travels to spend extended periods of time in Thailand. Pleasant continues to travel the world having amazing adventures. While living in Thailand he has continued to collect more stories and is working on a new book.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780874839166
ISBN-10: 0874839165
Publisher: August House Publishers
Publication Date: May 16th, 2009
Pages: 80
Language: English
Series: Books of Nine Lives