From the Forest (Saga of Recluce #23) (Hardcover)

From the Forest (Saga of Recluce #23) By L. E. Modesitt, Jr. Cover Image
List Price: $30.99
Our Price: $26.34
(Save: $4.65 15%)
Warehouse, In Stock | Usually Ships in 1-5 Days | New

Other Books in Series

This is book number 23 in the Saga of Recluce series.


Description


L. E. Modesitt, Jr. continues the Saga of Recluce, the long-running, best-selling epic fantasy series. In a new story arc, From the Forest follows the early life of a man known by many names depending on who you ask—hero, tyrant, emperor.

Alayiakal, who will one day be known by many names —not all of them flattering—has to climb the ranks of Cyador’s Mirror Lancers, fighting against unforeseen weapons and ancient technology.

Alayiakal, however, has secrets of his own to protect: his ties to the Great Forest and his magus abilities. He must silently pretend to be a conventional soldier favored by fate—until that very same fate forces him to choose.

Saga of Recluce

#1 The Magic of Recluce / #2 The Towers of the Sunset / #3 The Order War / #4 The Magic Engineer / #5 The Death of Chaos / #6 Fall of Angels / #7 The Chaos Balance / #8 The White Order / #9 Colors of Chaos / #10 Magi’i of Cyador / #11 Scion of Cyador / #12 Wellspring of Chaos / #13 Ordermaster / #14 Natural Order Mage / #15 Mage-Guard of Hamor / #16 Arms-Commander / #17 Cyador’s Heirs / #18 Heritage of Cyador / #19 The Mongrel Mage / #20 Outcasts of Order / #21 The Mage-Fire War / #22 Fairhaven Rising/#23 From the Forest


Story Collection: Recluce Tales

Other Series by L.E. Modesitt, Jr.
The Grand Illusion
The Imager Portfolio
The Corean Chronicles
The Spellsong Cycle
The Ghost Books
The Ecolitan Matter

About the Author


L. E. Modesitt, Jr., is the bestselling author of the fantasy series The Saga of Recluce, Corean Chronicles, and the Imager Portfolio. His science fiction includes Adiamante, the Ecolitan novels, the Forever Hero Trilogy, and Archform: Beauty. Besides a writer, Modesitt has been a U.S. Navy pilot, a director of research for a political campaign, legislative assistant and staff director for a U.S. Congressman, Director of Legislation and Congressional Relations for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, a consultant on environmental, regulatory, and communications issues, and a college lecturer. He lives in Cedar City, Utah.

Praise For…


Praise for From the Forest

“In the tradition of Pern, Darkover, and the Vorkosigan saga, the Saga of Recluce series is sf with fantasy woven throughout that illuminates a vast, imaginary world.”—Booklist

“It’s a good time and pure comfort food. Bring on the next.”—Nerds of a Feather

Modesitt takes his Saga of Recluse series in a new direction in its 23rd volume (after Fairhaven Rising), an atmospheric adventure tale that stands surprisingly well on its own.”—Publishers Weekly

Praise for Fairhaven Rising

“Extraordinary.” —Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Mongrel Mage

USA Today Bestseller

“No writer does it better.”—Kirkus

“Smart, thoughtful, and entertaining.”—Pat's Fantasy Hotlist

Praise for Outcasts of Order

USA Today Bestseller

“Always a pleasure to abide in Modesitt's universe, if only for a few hours or days.”—Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Mage-Fire War

USA Today
Bestseller


“Readers with a fondness for family sagas will appreciate the focus on day-to-day life”—Publishers Weekly

“I don’t think I’ve disliked a single one of Modesitt’s Recluce books but I was still a bit surprised . . . how quickly [The Mage-Fire War] has become one of my favorite books in the series.”—The Arched Doorway



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250877284
ISBN-10: 1250877288
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2024
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Saga of Recluce