Kwame Crashes the Underworld (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Kwame Crashes the Underworld By Craig Kofi Farmer Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $15.29
(Save: $2.70 15%)
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A stunning middle grade fantasy about a boy hurled into the Ghanaian underworld to help his late grandmother save humanity, perfect for fans of Tristan Strong and The Book of Life.

Twelve-year-old Kwame Powell refuses to acknowledge any feelings about his grandmother’s passing. And he certainly doesn't want to accompany his parents to her celebration of life ceremony in Ghana, where he knows he'll have to face his feelings about her death head-on.

But when an aboatia – a mischievous monkey from Akan mythology – steals Kwame's grandmother’s dashiki, his last physical reminder of her, Kwame decides to take matters into his own hands. He chases the little thief across town, to the edge of the pier, and…into a magical whirlpool that leads straight to Asamando, the Ghanaian underworld.

With his best friend Autumn, and the crafty aboatia he names Woo, Kwame finds himself embroiled with angry nature gods intent on destroying humanity. And, matters only get more complicated when he runs into none other than his grandmother herself...except in the underworld, she’s still a kid. And very much alive.

Adventurous and memorable, Craig Kofi Farmer's middle grade fantasy is an immersive and powerful debut that tackles themes of identity, intergenerational connectedness, and how to say goodbye with heart, humor, and an epic dose of magic.

About the Author


Craig Kofi Farmer is a Prince George's County native, with two Bachelor of Science degrees from Towson University and one Master of Education degree from the University of Maryland, College Park. He works in higher education administration, helping students achieve work-life balance and self-actualization. When he's not writing, he's analyzing superhero movies, watching psychological thrillers, and deciding exactly what he's going to eat that day.

Praise For…


"Brimming with laughter, joy, and beautiful messages about grief, hope, lost loved ones, identity, and the ancestors, Kwame Crashes the Underworld rattles the spirit. Kwame Powell is a much-welcomed hero to the canon of children's books." — Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times-bestselling author of The Marvellers and The Memory Thieves

“Craig Kofi Farmer brings to life the myths of Ghana with heart, humor, and cinematic flair. I wish this book had existed when I was a child. I dare readers not to let Kwame Powell into their hearts.” — Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times-bestselling author of Serwa Boateng’s Guide to Vampire Hunting

"A rollicking and electrifying adventure of one boy's journey to accept himself, his family, and his cultural heritage. Readers will cry and laugh with and love Kwame Powell, the boy who wears his dashiki with pride and uses it to bring the underworld and its meddling gods to its knees." — Jamar J. Perry, author of Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250900265
ISBN-10: 1250900263
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: September 10th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English