Brighter Than the Moon (Hardcover)

Brighter Than the Moon By David Valdes Cover Image
List Price: $18.99
Our Price: $16.14
(Save: $2.85 15%)
Warehouse, In Stock | Usually Ships in 1-5 Days | New

Description


Shy foster kid Jonas and self-assured vlogger Shani met online, and so far, that's where their relationship has stayed, sharing memes and baring their souls from behind their screens. Shani is eager to finally meet up, but Jonas isn't so sure--he's not confident Shani will like the real him . . . if he's even sure who that is.

Jonas knows he's trapped himself in a lie with Shani--and wants to dig himself out. But Shani, who's been burned before, may not give him a chance: she talks her best friend Ash into playing spy and finding out the truth. When Ash falls for Jonas, too, he keeps that news from Shani, and soon they're all keeping secrets. Will it matter that their hearts are in the right place? Coming clean will require them to figure out who they really are, which is no easy task when all the pieces of your identity go beyond easy boxes and labels.

Lauded writer David Valdes offers a heartfelt, clever, and thought-provoking story about how we figure out who we want to be--online and IRL--for fans of David Levithan and Adam Silvera.

About the Author


David Valdes is the author of Spin Me Right Round, a New York Public Library Best Book for Teens, and the nonfiction books Homo Domesticus, The Rhinestone Sisterhood, and Today Show pick A Little Fruitcake, as well as a dozen produced plays. A former Boston Globe columnist and HuffPost blogger whose posts have received over a million hits, he currently writes an advice column for Medium, and was recently featured in the New York Times's Modern Love column. He also teaches writing at Boston Conservatory and Tufts. David lives in the Boston area with his daughter.

davidvaldeswrites.com
Twitter: @dvaldestweets
Instagram: @davidvaldeswrites
Facebook: davidvaldeswriter

Praise For…


“Mixing charm and humor with a cast of delightfully messy teens you can't help but root for, Brighter Than the Moon offers a refreshing exploration of friendship, love, online personas, and identity. David Valdes perfectly captures the earnestness of being a teen trying to figure out your place in the world.” —Crystal Maldonado, author of FAT CHANCE, CHARLIE VEGA and NO FILTER AND OTHER LIES

“Unpredictable, in the best way possible. A story of identity, family, love, and the concurrent pain and beauty within uncertainty. Valdes has beautifully created and developed three very different protagonists, and I found myself wholeheartedly embracing each one.” —Sara Beg, author of SALAAM, WITH LOVE

“With Brighter Than the Moon, David Valdes gifts us a beautifully emotional and carefully crafted story about the messy process of connecting the dots of our own identities and connecting to each other in a fragmented world.” —Abdi Nazemian, author of Stonewall Honor Book LIKE A LOVE STORY and THE CHANDLER LEGACIES

“The heart wants what the heart wants, and Valdes artfully gives all involved their heart's desire.” —Booklist, starred review

“...a sweet story that positively explores the validity of online friendship and romance.” —Publishers Weekly

“An absolute blast. I loved it, and I couldn't put it down!” —Bill Konigsberg, award-winning author of The Music of What Happens on SPIN ME RIGHT ROUND

“A great read offering entertainment, encouragement, and plenty to reflect upon.” —Kirkus Reviews on SPIN ME RIGHT ROUND

“Prepare to laugh out loud as Cuban American high-school senior Luis takes a trip into the past that rivals Back to the Future. . . . The ripple effects of [the characters'] brave choices change everyone's future for the better.” —Booklist, on SPIN ME RIGHT ROUND



Product Details
ISBN: 9781547607167
ISBN-10: 1547607165
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: January 10th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English