Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)

Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) By Kerry Greenwood Cover Image
List Price: $15.99
Our Price: $13.59
(Save: $2.40 15%)
Warehouse, In Stock | Usually Ships in 1-5 Days | New

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Phryne Fisher Mysteries series.


Description


From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Cocaine Blues, the first historical mystery featuring the sensual, posh, and intrepid murder detective Phryne Fisher…

"Phryne can not get enough of adventure and the reader can not get enough of Phryne."—Deadly Pleasures

Looking for a riveting historical mystery series? This book is for you:

Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Dorothy Sayers

Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis

Movie Currently Streaming on Acorn TV

The London season is in full fling at the end of the roaring 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher—she of the green-gray eyes, diamant garters, and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions—is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia.

Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops, and communism—not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse—until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street. Tension and danger rise like steam, and Phryne must save herself and other young women before it's too late. Find these historical mystery series in Kindle books or in print—this lady detective will chase criminals to the end of the line!

About the Author


Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has degrees in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal profession on the 1st April 1982, a day which she finds both soothing and significant. Kerry has written three series, a number of plays, including The Troubadours with Stephen D’Arcy, is an award-winning children’s writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry has written twenty books in this series with no sign yet of Miss Fisher hanging up her pearl-handled pistol. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them. In 2003 Kerry won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Association.

Praise For…


"With Phryne Fisher, the indefatigable Greenwood has invented the character-you-fall-in-love-with genre." --The Australian

"The tricky plot, lively writing, likable flapper sleuth, and superb sense of period will delight readers who have already read (or will be motivated to seek) later books in the series already issued by Poisoned Pen."  --Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

"The growing American audience for Phryne Fisher, Australian author Greenwood's independent 1920s female sleuth, will be delighted that her diverting first mystery is finally available in the U.S."  --Publisher's Weekly

“This series is the best Australian import since Nicole Kidman, and Phryne is the flashiest new female sleuth in the genre.”   —Booklist starred review of Away with the Fairies



Product Details
ISBN: 9781590583852
ISBN-10: 159058385X
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: November 17th, 2011
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Phryne Fisher Mysteries