American Stutter: 2019-2021 (Paperback)

American Stutter: 2019-2021 By Steve Erickson Cover Image
List Price: $14.00
Our Price: $11.90
(Save: $2.10 15%)
Warehouse, In Stock | Usually Ships in 1-5 Days | New


As Jonathan Lethem put, Steve Erickson's journal of the last 18 months of the Trump Presidency "sears the page." Erickson, one of our finest novelists, has long been an astute political observer, and American Stutter, part political declaration, part humorous account of more personal matters, offers a particularly moving reminder of the democratic ideals that we are currently struggling to preserve. Written with wit, eloquence, and a controlled fury as events unfold, Erickson has left us with an essential record of our recent history, a book to be read with our collective breath held.

About the Author

Steve Erickson is the author of ten novels—Days Between Stations, Rubicon Beach, Tours of the Black Clock, Arc d’X, Amnesiascope, The Sea Came in at Midnight, Our Ecstatic Days, Zeroville, These Dreams of You and Shadowbahn—and two books about American politics and popular culture. Numerous editions have been published in English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch, Polish, Greek, Russian, Chinese and Japanese. Over the years he has written for numerous publications including Esquire, Rolling Stone, Smithsonian and the New York Times Magazine, and for twelve years he was founding editor of the national literary journal Black Clock. Currently he is the film/television critic for Los Angeles magazine and a Distinguished Professor at the University of California, Riverside. He has received a Guggenheim fellowship, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award, and the Lannan Lifetime Achievement Award. In July 2021 the University Press of Mississippi published Conversations With Steve Erickson as part of a series that has included Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, William Burroughs, Gabriel García Márquez and Toni Morrison.

Praise For…

 “Erickson is a dedicated prosecutor, hilariously slashing judge and, as a stand-in for the common good, the victim, who may be guilty too.” — Greil Marcus

“It sears the page—this is the book the moment deserves. Erickson’s raw refusal to kid himself is manifest in every line. I read it with my breath held as if I didn’t know the end.” — Jonathan Lethem

Product Details
ISBN: 9781953409102
ISBN-10: 1953409105
Publisher: Zerogram Press
Publication Date: April 5th, 2022
Pages: 170
Language: English