ASHA and Baz Meet Mary Sherman Morgan (Paperback)

ASHA and Baz Meet Mary Sherman Morgan By Caroline Fernandez, Dharmali Patel (Illustrator) Cover Image
$9.59
Warehouse, In Stock | Usually Ships in 1-5 Days | New

Description


Discover the magic, adventure, history and science of the Asha and Baz chapter book series.


Asha and Baz have a paper rocket to launch Whoever builds the rocket that travels the farthest will get to meet astronaut Chris Hadfield. The only problem is Asha and Baz don't know how to power their rocket.


Stuck and unsure, the kids brainstorm by drawing a rocket in the sand using a stick. But this is a very unusual stick. In fact, it's a magic stick And it transports them back in time to meet a person who might be able to help them with their rocket problem: scientist Mary Sherman Morgan.


Themes: children's books on STEM/STEAM, Early reader, women in science, women in history, space, gender equality.

Science activity in book can be replicated in schools or at home using simple supplies. Instructions provided in story.

***


★ A wonderful start to a new series centering on STEM and history; great for any children's library collection. School Library Journal Starred Review ★


Spunky protagonists get a realistic look at a historical female scientist in an accessible series opener.

Get it Kirkus

With an eye on history and love of science, Asha and Baz will encourage young scientists. Booklife Reviews

Perfect for fans of Magic Treehouse, Zet Mystery Case, Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and more.


About the Author


Caroline Fernandez is an award-winning author of children's books, magazine feature articles and blog posts. Filed away in her office is an English degree from McMaster University and a teacher of English as a second language certificate. She is the author of the popular Boredom Busters (series), Stop Reading This Book, The Adventures of Grandmasaurus (series), Asha and Baz (series) and more! She writes, reads, and bakes in Toronto, Ontario. You can follow her on Twitter @parentclub and/or Instagram @parentclub. Dharmali Patel studied at the Mumbai-Rachna Sansad School of Applied Arts, where she majored in illustration, and the Vancouver Film School, where she earned her bachelor's in 2D classical animation. In the past 20 years, she has worn thehats of animation director, art director, visual development artist, designer, and illustrator. Dharmali is honoured that authors trust her with their beautiful words and allow her to visually conceive the world and characters that ultimately become their books. She hopes that her imagery will inspire young minds and encourage a love of reading and beautiful art. Currently, Dharmali lives and works in Toronto. She is represented by Illustration Online LLC.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781988761671
ISBN-10: 1988761670
Publisher: Common Deer Press
Publication Date: September 1st, 2022
Pages: 106
Language: English